Is it possible to bring world peace?

149H

 

“If everyone wanted peace as much as they want a new iPhone, then there would be peace.”
― Shira Tamir

 

I came accross this quote when I was on the website goodreads and I must admit it made me laugh, because this quote is quite an interesting one.  This person combined several problems in order to suggest a solution to another problem: A way to get World Peace.

I will first explain quickly in my own way what that quote means. Today’s society is quite a materialistic one. On the one hand, we have those who produce in mass to sell as much as possible afterwards, and on the other hands, we have the consumers who buy what they want (not always for primary needs). I see quite often (and some of you must certainly see it as well) people who talk about buying the new Iphone, or a new smartphone, a new tablet or even a new computer, even though their old device is still working.  What’s more, they talk about buying a new one as if it was nothing, as if it was cheap. I do not know about the others, but when I see something like that, I always think: “If you have enough money to buy a new [enter the name of the device here] even though the one you currently have is still working, then you have enough money to do something better with it.”

Now, that “something better” refers to many things, but as an exemple to illustrate this expression,  I would take the case of the homeless in the streets.

What would be a natural reaction when a homeless asks you for money? I would say that the most natural thing people would do (even though it is quite a sad one) is to ignore the homeless asking for money, or to simply lie and say that they don’t have/carry any money. And notice that I used the word would instead of the word will. And there is a reason for that. That is because not everyone will have the same natural reaction to such a situation. As a matter of fact, some people would find it more natural to think that it is better to help a homeless instead of ignoring or lying to them. Now let’s come back to those who would rather ignore or lie to those homeless people. Among them, you will find people who won’t give even a single coin to them and yet will talk about buying a new device as if it was nothing, and yet still have their current device working. And that’s one of the situation where I would say “If you have enough money to buy a new device even though the one you currently have is still working, then you have enough money to help a homeless who only asks for a coin. It is not as if that person is asking you to give him a house to live in.”

In my opinion, the problem can usually be seen into two forms: Either people think that if they give money, the one receiving the money is going to make a bad use of it, or they think that while they are working hard to earn money (sometimes just enough to live a decent life), those homeless people try to get money while doing nothing. But I have my own little solution concerning this matter: If everyone would give a coin to every homeless they see, not only they would lose almost nothing, but the homeless would be able to get out of a terrible situation.

Now some of you would certainly say that if the homeless start to get a lot of money from people, more and more people will fake bein homeless just to get more money. I already anticipated this sort of situation, but I will keep it for another article, because this is not the subject of this article. (Remember that I was just giving an example here)

 So is it possible to bring World Peace? My answer will be yes. And there is a simple reason behind my answer: I want to believe that World Peace is possible, and I want to believe in mankind and in their ability to create a better future. If we do not even believe in ourselves, how could we even start to hope for something such as World Peace anyway?

Then how can we bring World Peace? There are many ways to bring World Peace, and the interesting quote I found on Goodreads gives some ways of doing so in itself. Do not be too selfish, because selfishness is one of the main reasons why people keep a certain distance from each other. Love everyone as if they were members of your own family, because there can be no peace if there is no love. Help people in need, and become an example to follow for the others. Another important point (and difficult to obtain) to bring peace is to have mutual trust. When there is no trust, there is no peace. Did you notice that I used the world peace  instead of World Peace. That is because you cannot achieve World Peace by yourself, nor can I, nor can anyone. Everyone has to work together in order to bring peace, and by working together and bringing each little piece of peace, we will be able to create World Peace.

 

Leave a Reply

